Melky Cabrera takes himself out of batting title

A. Isaac Senior Editor

Melky Cabrera Melky Cabrera takes himself out of batting title

Wikimedia (http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Melky_Cabrera_Giants_2012.jpg)

Melky Cabrera just did MLB and Bud Selig a huge favor by taking himself out of consideration for the batting title. The agreement was made jointly by the players union and Major League baseball.

Despite the batting title not being a recognized award, it would have been a huge black eye for the league with Cabrera’s admitted doping.

Here’s CSNBAYAREA with more:

Cabrera, who is hitting .346, will finish one plate appearance short of qualifying for the batting title. Rule 10.22(a) permits a player to be recognized as the official winner if extra hitless at-bats are added to his average and it remains higher than any qualifying player. (Cabrera’s average would fall from .3464 to .3456 – still .346 when rounded up.)

Under terms of the agreement, Rule 10.22(a) will not apply to suspended players.

A savvy PR move by Cabrera but a move that may have come too late. This wasn’t an election with undecided voters. The folks that had made up their mind about Cabrera made it long ago. The others simply don’t care about doping or baseball for that matter.

comment on this story

blog comments powered by Disqus